top of page

AMP Members Bring Home 5 First-Place Awards in National Communications Contest

Nine Alabama Media Professionals members won 15 awards in the National Federation of Press Women 2015 Communications Contest.

Five of those nine earned a first place award, including Meredith Cummings, Donna Francavilla, Mary Eloise Leake, Elaine Hobson Miller, and Joy Sandlin.

  • Cummings won for a personal blog.

  • Francavilla won for an on-the-scene television report.

  • Leake won for writing a specialty article about arts or entertainment.

  • Miller won for a personality profile that appeared in "Discover the Essence of St. Clair" magazine.

  • Sandlin won for a website she manages for the Birmingham Association of Realtors.

Nancy Dorman-Hickson received two second-place awards: one for writing a specialty articles about business; the other for designing and writing PR materials, a magazine; and a third for writing a specialty articles about agriculture, agribusiness, or aquaculture. She also won honorable mentions in the Feature Story category and the Specialty Articles - Green/Environmental category.

Francavilla won a second-place award in the Prepared Report-Television category and a third-place award in the Prepared Report - Radio category.

Carolanne Roberts took a second place in the PR Materials - Brochures category, and Chanda Temple received an honorable mention in the Marketing Program or Campaign category, and Johnny L. Stevens, a journalism professor at Spring Hill College in Mobile, received a third-place award as a faculty adviser of a student television station.

Award certificates will be presented at the contest awards banquet at the 2015 NFPW Communications Conference in Anchorage, Alaska.

bottom of page