top of page

2023 Award Winners

AMP held its annual Awards Ceremony on April 20 at The Club in Birmingham. The entire ceremony may be viewed here.

Professional Winners:

Mariah Mason:

First Place- 15 Fall Breakfast Recipes That Will Keep You Warm and Cozy All Season Long (Food)

First Place-Personal Website

Solomon Crenshaw:

First Place-Bill Terry Jr., a Black Alabama soldier killed in war, reached the promised land of Elmwood Cemetery (History)

First Place-Metro Roundup: Alopecia Awareness Walk held at Wald Park (Physical Health)

First Place-THE FREEDOM RIDERS: By land and by sky, Black and white Freedom Riders boarded buses, trains and planes, together, to protest racial segregation on public transportation in the South (Online)

First Place-Legendary Alabama Sportswriter Rubin Grant Honored With 49 Other Icons (Features 750 word)

First Place- Talladega College announces Dr. Gregory J. Vincent as its new president (Education)

First Place-Alabama doctor, former junior tennis player heads back to New York as a pickleball pro (Sports)

Second Place-Jefferson County Sheriff Faces Republican Challenger on Tuesday’s Ballot

Michael Clay Carey:

First Place-A League of Her Own (Feature)

First Place-Birmingham's Team: How the Squadron hope to build a community through basketball (Sports)

First Place-Changing Narratives (Design)

First Place-Legion midfielder Enzo Martinez (Photographs)

First Place-Parking at Samford University (TV)

First Place-Coverage of LGBTQ+ community issues at Samford University (In-depth Reporting)

First Place-Samford community responds with silent protest (News)

First Place-Bible Said What (Podcast)

First Place-The Steroid Era saved baseball (Opinion/Editorial)

Elaine Hobson Miller

First Place-Knitted Knockers (Hobby)

Olivia McMurrey

First Place-Get Ready Now (Business)

First Place-Council staff participate in labor roundtable with vice president, DOL secretary (Government/Politics)

First Place-The Millwright magazine/newsletter (Newsletter-non-profit)

First Place-Tax Fraud Days of Action 2022 (Non-profit, governmental or educational)

First Place-Civic Action E-News - Third quarter 2022 (Magazine)

First Place-UBC Sisters in the Brotherhood Conference - 2022 video (Video for non-profit)

Carla Davis

First Place-Clotilda slave ship Survivors' story told in Mobile museum (Magazine)

Third Place-Golden rules: Employee widely known for special efforts

Carolanne Roberts

First Place- Me, You & '22 newsletter

Fourth Place-Gilroy Chow personality profile

Misty Mathews

First Place-CAVU Benefit Corporation AWSP One Pager

First Place- Water: A matter of national security – and the best hope for our climate

Javacia Bowser

First Place-Find Your Way Back: How to Write Your Way Through Anything

Stephen Dethrage

First Place- Lawsuit Blames DCH For Wrongful Death of Tuscaloosa Icon Bill Buchanan

First Place-DCH Replaces CEO Amid Calls for Change

Second Place- $1.5 Billion, 88-Acre Tuscaloosa Innovation District Could Create 5,000 Jobs

Third Place-Aniah Blanchard's Still-Grieving Mother Celebrates Adoption of Amendment 1

Bobby Mathews

First Place- Living the Gimmick

First Place-The Ghost of Buxahatchee Creek

Donna Cope

Second Place-Alabama Power lineman leads in giving back to Montgomery

Second Place-Alabama Power retires Plant Gadsden after more than a century of service

Fourth Place-Team lead Lopez 'bridges the gap' culturally and professionally

Erin Coggins

Second Place- Hidden Princess

Third Place-The Art of Lowe Mill

Elaine Hobson Miller

Second Place-Hen Party

Second Place-Remember When -- Broken Arrow Creek/Coal City

Third Place-Stitching Memories

Chuck Chandler

Second Place-Powergrams magazine

Bob Blalock

Fourth Place-Why Alabama's Gee's Bend was right for clothing company expansion

High School Winners:

Rileigh Glassman, Sparkman High, first place, environment.

Kyla Davidson, Sparkman High, first place, columns or blogs.

Wyatt Harris, Sparkman High, first place, review.

Bria Howard, Sparkman High, first place, double-truck layout.

Kimberly MacDonald, Sparkman High, first place, feature story.

Kendall Cope, Sparkman High, first place sports story.

Olivia Lake, Sparkman High, first place, graphics/photo illustration.

Vee Lewis, Sparkman High, first place, opinion.

Kortney Allen, Sparkman High, first place, news story.

Katie Word, Sparkman High, first place, yearbook layout.

Erica Williams, Sparkman High, first place, yearbook photo.

Ana “Cordie” Burt, Auburn High, first place, best newscast and video sports story.

Yesher Bowie, Auburn High, first place, video feature story.

Lily Ondy, Auburn High, first place, video news story.

Mason Smith, Auburn High, first place, sports photo.

Tess Warren, Sparkman High, second place, double-truck layout.

Harrison Hollingsworth, Sparkman High, second place, opinion.

Meme Malone, Sparkman High, second place, feature story.

Alyssa Miller, Sparkman High, second place, review.

Addison Brooks, Sparkman High, second place, yearbook layout.

Yagmur Sena Nane, Auburn High, second place, sports photo.

Kortney Allen, Sparkman High, third place, feature story.

Neela Cole, Sparkman High, third place, yearbook layout.

Amelia Newman, Auburn High, third place, sports photo.

Jayanna Curry, Sparkman High, honorable mention, yearbook layout.

Sarah Bailey Brown, Auburn High, honorable mention, sports photo.

bottom of page